On the Injured List: Pinched Nerve and Epidural Injection

ESI for Lumbar Pain

Monday, I went in for my first of three epidural injections. Unlike the injections given to women in labor, these injections are to help inflammation of the disc in my spine–which is pushing against my nerve. I was terrified of the experience. I hate needles and the thought of how it was going to go down, scared the crap out of me.

Here is a brief description, if you are interested: A nurse came in and took all my vitals and briefed me on what was about to happen. First step was to tell me that I would not be able to drive if given a mild sedative, but I could,  if I decided to go for the local, topical solution. I took the latter. I wanted to be fully aware of what was happening and I could not guarantee that with a mild sedative. Second, I went into a room with two nurses and the doctor. I was hooked to more vital checking machines and laid face down, with my stomach on a pillow. Third, the doctor came in and and numbed the area. As he was looking at the area he was also checking an x-ray machine to ensure accuracy. As the needle went in, I screamed! Yeah, I felt it and it hurt. The doctor, promptly removed the needle and applied more numbing medication. Then, he went in again. This time, I felt nothing. Before I knew it–we were done. After that, I was led to recovery for 10 minutes and given a cold drink. Finally, I was told I could go home, but to take it easy the remainder of the day and to ice the injection area later that night.

The Day(s) After

Tuesday the pain had decreased, however, I still maintained a low profile.

Wednesday (Today), the pain is there but, not as bad as it had been. The only thing now is –wondering. Wondering when and how severe the pain will be when it comes back and what should I do do to protect myself. I am terrified of going back to yoga, but I am going to go back and give it a whirl with a less intense class. Running is out of the question. I have also been researching natural alternatives for joints, bones, and nerve health.  And, I am  seeing a massage therapist in hopes of finding some relief.

Wish me luck, say a prayer, or whatever. This is going to be a painstaking year.

Leave a Reply

