Slow Cooking: Southern-style Pinto Beans

I made my first slow cooker meal today. I love my Crock Pot. It is the perfect kitchen tool for busy folks. In the middle of work, keeping up with Andy, fitting in a work out, school, studying, and quality time with family & friends cooking is often the last thing I want to think about. With the slow cooker (I prefer recipes with little-to-no prep) I can put everything in the pot at night, let it cook while I am asleep and pack it for lunch in the morning…perfection. The rest I use for leftovers 🙂

Some of my favorite dishes are cilantro-lime chicken, chicken and dumplings, ropa-veija, beans, and taco soup 🙂

Here is the recipe for my southern-style pinto beans:

1 package- 20oz Pinto Beans

1 (seasoning option) bullion, pork hocks or pork jowl

1 Large red onion

2 cloves of fresh garlic

5-6 cups of water (enough to cover the beans)

Kosher salt (to taste)

1/2 tsp. Black Pepper

1/2 tsp. Red Pepper

Smoked Paprika

1/2 tsp. Thyme

1/2 tsp. Rosemary

1 Bay Leaf

Instructions: Rise beans thoroughly and rid the beans of debris and possible rocks. Chop onion and garlic. Add cleaned beans, water, and all seasoning except salt into the slow cooker and cook on low for 10 hours. Around the 9th hour, add salt.

Here is a look at my finished product.

Southern-style pinto beans. My mom's recipe  with my own twist.

Southern-style pinto beans. My mom’s recipe with my own twist.

Leave a Reply

