No more Ms. Nice Girl

no more nice girl

 

That’s it! I’ve had it, seriously. It seems like every time I do something nice, I get kicked in the ass all the time. I’m over it! All my life I have done the right thing, ignored and walked away from situations where I really wanted

 

to lose it and what do I have to show for it…NOTHING! Sure people say she is so nice and pleasant–but dammit pleasant don’t do a thing.

Woman Stressed

 

It’s seriously just is my nature. I don’t even think about it {being nice} until someone makes me aware it. For example, I have an elderly neighbor who gets the newspaper delivered daily. The lazy newspaper man just throws it toward her door, never checking to see if it actually gets to her. SO in steps stupid me…ugghh! Every morning as I walk out to walk Andy I stop pick up the paper and put it on the mat in front of her door–really, every morning. My rationale is that she will simply have to open the door and bend down and not scoot out the house and pick up the paper. No one ask that I do this and I don’t expect any reward, it just seems right.

Okay, so this is not saving the world but hey, its the little things, right?

I have my own daily stress but I still manage to call those people close to me and check to see how they are doing and so on. Do they even remotely return the sentiment? NO!! They only call when the need or want something–all the while still never bothering to even ask, “How are things going?” Most times they don’t even give a greeting and go right into what they need and what is bothering them–I’m not exaggerating here; people do this to me on a daily basis.

So, I’ve had enough! I’m done. I am verbally flipping you the bird and saying “Back the off and show some consideration!” From now on there is no more Ms. Nice Girl. Talk s*it, you’re getting it back and I don’t care if you’re feelings get hurt. This will now take place in every part of my life work, school, family life, strangers–you name it, they gettin’ it.nice girls dont get it

After doing some research on being too nice, I found out that this is a thing and there are books and a movement on The Nice Girl Syndrome.

nice girl syndrome

 

Besides, as I have learned from the title of this book–s*it’s about to get real.why men marry bitches

2 thoughts on “No more Ms. Nice Girl

  1. Girl, you didn’t know about nice girl syndrome? You’re usually on stuff waaay before I am. Even though I’m taking more strides to stand up for myself, I understand what you’re saying. It is hard to sometimes say what you want because you fear that you will come off like a bitch or that people won’t like you, but I’ve recently had to step out of my nice girl mode to tell someone a truth. It was because that person had pushed me to go there, but still. I was tactful, there was no harm done, and I’m glad I finally said my piece on the matter. I think the thing that did it for me was because I started taking up for myself as far as telling my mother how I feel, when she hurts my feelings, etc. I think that when you express how you really feel to one of the most important people in your life, it diminishes the fear of being that honest with others.

Leave a Reply

