To do or not to do: Online Dating

obline dating

I’m a born and raised Kentucky girl! Translation, it means that by the age of 25, if you’re not married and on your way to being knocked up then something is horribly wrong. Well, I have not been 25 for quite sometime and trust me at 25, I was certainly not thinking about being married or having a kid…I still was one! This notion of being married at such a young age still holds true in the Commonwealth. I recall sitting at a table full of liberal activist–well, liberal for Kentucky, and the consensus was if you’re not married by 30 then something is wrong with you. Wait, what?!?! So, what did I do? I picked up and moved to Washington, DC where things made sense. I could be young a free.

Move forward about 7 years and here I am back in Kentucky and running into all the same issues.

Since my move to Kentucky dating has been…um…well…let’s just say, I would rather stay at home with my dog or go for dinner with the girls.  Nothing wrong with that. There is nothing I appreciate more than a quiet Saturday evening at home with a glass of wine and When Harry Met Sally or You’ve Got Mail. Yeah, I’m one of those girls.

But the past year my schedule has been super hectic and there are just days when I’m not really in the mood to hang out with the girls and you can only see your dog lick himself so many times, so I need to find a boy to hang out with, right? In my day-to-day life I don’t meet many men believe it or not. Generally at school it’s all women, volunteering– I meet only women, and so on. So every other week this year someone is telling me to go online and in theory that sounds perfectly legitimate. I shop online, work online, learn stuff online; why not date?

Here’s why not. It’s creepy. People are crazy and what if no one responds? I can’t be a failure at something as simple as online dating…right? Also, I don’t want to run the risk of meeting:

This guy

This guy

or

this guy

this guy

I am just looking for a nice, funny, able to carry on a conversation guy without the crap. I don’t want to play games…I’m too old. I don’t want the stress…I have enough. And, I will NOT put up with BULLSHIT. Plain and simple, I want an adult who has their head on straight but likes to have fun. No, 34-year-old frat boys, wannabe thugs, wannabe rappers or whatever else is out there. Just be yourself and about something…stand for something!

And the all important thing, I don’t want to end up like this matchcom1 because when I get better–you better hope I don’t get better.

I know these are extreme and people have met some really great people on-line. So in order for me to try this what is a good site for Louisville, KY to meet decent people for online dating.

Please lend your advice.

9 thoughts on “To do or not to do: Online Dating

  1. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if
    I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  2. You gotta try and see what happens. The best thing is if you meet someone cool then you’ve had some time to get to know each other without giving up a lot of your own time and if you meet someone crazy then you can: click, click delete them from your message feed (without worrying they are going to follow you home from the bar).

  3. Haa! You’re crazy. Where did you get those photos of those guys? Anyway, I agree with JaleesaRenee. I’m not going to lie and say that online dating is all roses and flowers because, yes, there are some losers, but there are losers in real life so it makes sense. But it is a time-efficient way to meet new people because if you receive a message, read the profile and don’t like it, you just laugh and go on with your life–simple. And if you like them respond and see what they’re talking about. Maybe something will happen and then you can give me the fifty dollars you owe me! As far as site suggestions I think you might have to do your research and determine what’s best for you, but if you’re just starting out and are reluctant to make a financial investment before you see if you really feel comfortable I would suggest a free site like Plenty of Fish or OKCupid.

    • The wonderful world of Google is where I got the photos 🙂 Seriously, someone mentioned JDate to me today…LOL!! I think I will try at least three and use the experience on the blog–this way it helps my project too! Thanks for the feedback 🙂

  4. Usually I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this
    write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

  5. This is really interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and sit up for seeking extra of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

