Shoe Search 2012…Search for the Right Running Shoe

I finally made time to go look for running shoes. I knew I had weird feet and if I was going to take this running thing seriously then I needed the right shoes. So I made a trip to my local running store Fleet Feet Shoes for gait testing. In true Keshia fashion my 20 minute-max trip to get shoes turned into an over an hours and half. During this process I had to come to terms with a few unsettling facts like my feet are incredibly long and to top it off very narrow. I have been wearing the wrong size shoes and going bigger made me cringe and the complex about my feet even larger.

Over an hour and half later after trying on more than 10 pairs of shoes including several pairs of Saucony, Asics, Brooks, Adidas, Mizuno, New Balance, and Nike. Like Goldilocks I ran into the problem of shoes being too wide, too hard, too spacious in the heel, not enough support, and not enough stability. And not to mention some were just too small and other that made me feel like Crusty the Clown and I was tripping over the toes…so sad for me.

So in the end we think we may have found the most appropriate shoes for my feet. The are the Nike Zoom Structure. They were great for structure and for the newbie runner I am the offer cushion and amazing support for my archless feet.

My hopefully future running shoes

Mizuno Women's Wave Rider 15 Limited Edition

Both shoes are affordable and are in the price range I am willing to pay. Hopefully this is the start of my new journey and I will keep this up past the accessories phase–which is generally my favorite part 🙂
Leave a Reply

